Stadium Seat Rules › Big 12

Big 12 Stadium Seat & Bag Rules (2026)

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Disclosure

Checked Oct 2026 against official school and stadium pages · All 16 schools

What most Big 12 stadiums allow

Counted from the 16 rows below
8allow a seat with a back
2cushions onlyOklahoma State and UCF
4ban seats or cushionsBaylor, BYU, Kansas, and TCU
2not statedHouston and Iowa State
18″most common width limit (7 of 16)Other limits: Oklahoma State 16″, Texas Tech 16″, and West Virginia 16″ · No size stated: 2
0allow armrests4 of 16 ban arms outright; the rest don't mention arms
8 of 16ban pocketsPages that list pockets as banned on seats or cushions
12″ × 6″ × 12″clear bag limit at 14 of 161 write it 12″ × 12″ × 6″ · Different: BYU and TCU

Rule of thumb from these 16 rows: an armless seat or cushion, no wider than 18″ (the most common limit here), with no pockets or zippers. Then check your row: 4 ban seats or cushions and 2 don’t say.

Yes seat with a back allowed Cushions only flat cushion, no back No seats/cushions banned Not stated official page doesn't say

All 16 Big 12 Stadiums: Seat & Bag Rules

Stadium / teamSeat ruleSize limitBacks, arms & notesBag ruleSources
Casino Del Sol StadiumArizona Yes Max 18″ wide × 9″ deep Personal chair backs OK at staff discretion; no armrests, cupholders or reclining; no pockets, zippers, compartments or covers Formerly Arizona Stadium; chair backs that break the rules must be removed and stored
Official wordingPersonal chair backs can be used in Casino Del Sol Stadium at the discretion of stadium staff. All portable stadium seats are limited to 18" width, 9" depth, cannot have attached armrests or cupholders, and cannot recline to encroach upon the access or legroom of adjacent patrons. Prohibited: "Non-approved seat cushions including large traditional seat cushions that have pockets, zippers, compartments or covers"
Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear freezer bag; hand-sized clutch (no size given) Arizona A-Z Fan Guide ↗
Source noteOfficial site calls it Casino Del Sol Stadium (2026 game-day page), not Arizona Stadium; non-compliant chair backs must be removed and stored
Mountain America StadiumArizona State Yes Max 18″ wide Cushions with backs OK; no pockets, compartments, zippers or covers; arms not stated
Official wordingSeat Cushion and Seat Cushion with Back (no pockets, compartments, or covers; 18" or less in width) / Seat cushions or chair backs must be 18” or less in width (no pockets, compartments, or covers)
Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear bag; clutch 4.5″ × 6.5″ ASU Sun Devils Game Day Guide ↗ ASU Clear Bag Policy ↗
Source noteAlso on sundevils.com Clear Bag Policy page
McLane StadiumBaylor No n/a Chairbacks and cushions both prohibited No medical exception is listed for chairbacks or cushions
Official wordingBaylor has implemented a clear bag policy and the following items are prohibited: ... Chairbacks & Cushions
Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear freezer bag; hand-sized clutch (no size given) Baylor McLane Stadium Policies ↗
Source noteMedical-exception asterisk is attached to animals and food, not to chairbacks/cushions; Baylor gameday policies page is JavaScript-only and could not be read
LaVell Edwards StadiumBYU No n/a No outside stadium chairs; in-stadium chair back rentals (season or per game) Flat cushions not specifically mentioned; chair back rentals sold with tickets
Official wordingStadium chairs are not allowed to be brought into LaVell Edwards Stadium. In-stadium chair back rentals will be available on a season and per-game basis and can be purchased when selecting tickets.
No bags; clutch up to 5″ × 8″ × 1″Medically necessary items (incl. diaper bags) after inspection; one bag per person LaVell Edwards Stadium Policies ↗
Nippert StadiumCincinnati Yes No larger than 18″ Cushions with or without backs OK; pockets and arms not stated on current sheet
Official wordingThe following ARE PERMITTED in the stadium: ... Seat cushions (no larger than 18 inches). FB26 sheet, Approved Items: CLEAR BACKPACK OR CINCH BAG, SEAT CUSHIONS WITH OR WITHOUT BACKS
Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear bag or clear backpack/cinch bag (same size); clutch/belt bag 6″ × 9″ Nippert Stadium A-Z Guide ↗ Bearcats FB26 Approved Item Policy (PDF) ↗
Source noteBacks allowance comes from the FB26 Approved Item Policy sheet; the older UCPD sheet banned 'seat cushion with pocket'
Folsom FieldColorado Yes Max 18″ wide Chair backs OK; no pockets, zippers or covers; can't overhang bleacher Seatback rentals near Gates 1, 6 & 13 ($15 game day; buffseats.com)
Official wordingSeat cushions and chair backs must be 18” or less in width (no pockets, zippers or covers). Portable stadium seats must be 18” or less in width (no pockets, zippers or covers) and cannot overhang the bleacher or infringe on the seat space of those around you.
Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear bag; clutch 4.5″ × 6.5″ Folsom Field A-Z ↗ CU Clear Bag, Prohibited & Permitted Items ↗
TDECU StadiumHouston Not stated Bans seats/seat backs wider than 18″ Only bans seats and seat backs wider than 18″; cushions not mentioned Chairback rentals $15/game; season chairbacks through the ticket office
Official wordingProhibited: Seats and/or seat backs wider than 18 inches. Individual game chairback rentals will be available for $15 on game days inside the stadium at various locations.
Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear freezer bag; clutch 4.5″ × 6.5″ TDECU Stadium Gameday Guide ↗
Source notePage references the 2026 season; chairback rentals $15/game, season chairbacks via ticket office
MidAmerican Energy Field at Jack Trice StadiumIowa State Not stated Not stated Current page silent on seats/cushions Older official pages allowed cushions, but the current page doesn't say Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear freezer bag; clutch 6″ × 9″; logo max 4.5″ × 3.4″ Jack Trice Stadium Policies & Procedures ↗
Source noteOlder official pages (2009 news; 2015 fan guide PDF) said 'Chair backs or stadium seats (cushions are allowed)' but nothing current confirms it
David Booth Kansas Memorial StadiumKansas Noseatbacks; cushions not stated n/a Personal seatbacks/chairbacks prohibited; seatbacks provided to season ticket holders and rented on game day
Official wordingNo. Seatbacks will not be allowed to be brought into the venue. Seatbacks are provided for all football season ticket holders and are also available to rent the day of the game inside the gates of Memorial Stadium
Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear freezer bag; clutch 5.5″ × 8.5″ KU Clear Bag Policy & FAQ ↗ KU Prohibited Items ↗
Source noteArticle dated 5/9/2017 on page; current Prohibited Items page also bans chairbacks
Bill Snyder Family StadiumKansas State Yes Max 18″ wide Seat cushions and chairbacks OK; no pockets, zippers, compartments or covers; arms not stated
Official wording*Non-approved seat cushions and chairbacks include large traditional seat cushions that have pockets, zippers, compartments, or covers. Seat cushions and chairbacks must be 18” or less in width.
Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear freezer bag; clutch 5.5″ × 7.5″ K-State Clear Bag Policy ↗
Boone Pickens StadiumOklahoma State Cushions onlyno backs Max 16″ wide No back or metal frame; personal chair backs prohibited Chair backs sold through Cowboy Stadium Seating (cowboyseats.com)
Official wordingChair backs are not permitted to be brought into the stadium. Seat cushions are permitted as long as they are 16” wide or smaller. No back or metal frame is permitted.
Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Clutch 6″ × 9″; one bag per person OSU A-Z Guide: Football ↗
Source noteA-Z page references the 2026 season; chair backs sold via Cowboy Stadium Seating (cowboyseats.com)
Amon G. Carter StadiumTCU No n/a Outside seat cushions prohibited; attached Frog Seats chairbacks sold for $69/season
Official wordingThe following actions and items ARE NOT ALLOWED inside any TCU athletics venue ... • Outside Stadium Seat Cushions. Fans have an opportunity to purchase attached chairback seats for their bleacher space for just $69 for the entire season.
Clear, up to 14″ × 14″Or 1-gal clear freezer bag; hand-sized clutch (Clear Bag page: 12″ × 6″ × 12″, clutch 4.5″ × 6.5″) TCU Football A-Z Guide ↗
Source noteA-Z page references 2026; separate TCU Clear Bag Policy page lists 12″ × 6″ × 12″ instead of 14″ × 14″
Galaxy StadiumTexas Tech Yes Max 16″ wide Cushions and seatbacks OK; no armrests, pockets, zippers, compartments or covers Formerly Jones AT&T Stadium; seat rentals at Gates 1, 3 & 4
Official wordingSeat cushions and seatbacks without pockets, zippers, compartments, or covers are permitted. Seat cushions and seatbacks must be 16” in width or less and no armrests.
Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear freezer bag; clutch 4.5″ × 6.5″ Texas Tech Clear Bag Policy FAQ ↗
Source noteStadium now called Galaxy Stadium (formerly Jones AT&T); 2026 Gameday in Raiderland page bans seat backs/cushions wider than 16″ and rents seats at Gates 1, 3 & 4
Acrisure Bounce HouseUCF Cushions only Not stated No arms or pockets; seatbacks/chair frames of any kind prohibited
Official wordingSeat cushions (no arms or pockets on cushion). Approved seat cushions may be carried into the stadium. Non-approved seat cushions and chairbacks include any that have arm rests and any large traditional seat cushions that have pockets, zippers, compartments or covers. Current page: Seatbacks/Chair Frames of any kind (Prohibited)
Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear resealable bag; clutch 4.5″ × 6.5″ (need not be clear) UCF Security & Clear Bag FAQ ↗ UCF Approved Bags, Items & Metal Detection ↗
Source noteCushion allowance is on an older page that still says FBC Mortgage Stadium; current Approved Bags page (mentions 2023 season) bans seatbacks/chair frames and is silent on cushions
Rice-Eccles StadiumUtah Yes Max 18″ wide Cushions and seat/chair backs OK; no pockets, zippers, compartments or covers; 'large stadium seats' prohibited Utah's bag size is written 12″ × 12″ × 6″
Official wordingOnly approved seat cushions may be carried into the venue. Large, traditional seat cushions that have pockets, zippers, compartments or covers are not permitted. Seat cushions and seat backs without pockets, zippers, compartments or covers are permitted. Seat cushions and chair backs must be 18″ in width or less.
Clear, up to 12″ × 12″ × 6″Or 1-gal clear bag; clutch 4.5″ × 6.5″ U of Utah Stadium Venue Policies ↗
Milan Puskar StadiumWest Virginia Yes Max 16″ Armless only; no pockets, zippers, compartments or covers; no overhang Seatback rentals on the east and west concourses; seatbacks also sold on game day for $20 (cashless)
Official wordingPortable stadium seats no larger than 16” are allowed as long as they are armless and do not overhang the bleacher or infringe on the seat space of those around you. Seat cushions and seat backs without pockets, zippers, compartments or covers are permitted. Seat cushions and chair backs must be 16" in width or less.
Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear bag; clutch 6″ × 9″ WVU Football A-to-Z Guide ↗ WVU Clear Bag & Metal Detectors Policy ↗
Source noteSeatback rentals on east/west concourses; 2026 game info: seatbacks sold on game day $20, cashless

What to Bring to Big 12 Games

FAQ

Are stadium seats with backs allowed at Big 12 games? 8 of 16 schools publish a rule that allows a seat or chair back (Arizona, Arizona State, Cincinnati, Colorado, Kansas State, Texas Tech, Utah, and West Virginia). Cushions only: 2 (Oklahoma State and UCF). Seats or cushions banned: 4 (Baylor, BYU, Kansas, and TCU). Not stated: 2 (Houston and Iowa State). Those pages only list some banned types or don't mention seats.

What size stadium seat is allowed at Big 12 stadiums? 18″ wide is the most common written limit, at 7 of 16 schools (Arizona, Arizona State, Cincinnati, Colorado, Houston, Kansas State, and Utah). Other limits: Oklahoma State (Max 16″ wide), Texas Tech (Max 16″ wide), and West Virginia (Max 16″). No size is stated for 2 schools (Iowa State and UCF). Measure the widest point of your seat, including the frame.

Are armrests allowed on Big 12 stadium seats? None of the 16 official pages we cite say armrests are allowed. 4 ban them outright (Arizona, Texas Tech, UCF, and West Virginia). The rest don't mention arms in the rule we cite. Buy an armless seat.

What is the Big 12 clear bag rule? Clear bag up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″ is the most common rule, at 14 of 16 schools. (Utah writes the same size as 12″ × 12″ × 6″.) Different rules: BYU (No bags; clutch up to 5″ × 8″ × 1″) and TCU (Clear, up to 14″ × 14″).

Can I rent a seatback at Big 12 stadiums? The official pages for 8 of 16 schools mention seat or seatback rentals, sales, leases or season installs (BYU, Colorado, Houston, Kansas, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas Tech, and West Virginia). That's often the easiest option where personal seatbacks aren't allowed. Details are in the notes column.

Which Big 12 stadiums ban seats or cushions? Per their official pages, checked October 2026. Banned: McLane Stadium (Baylor), LaVell Edwards Stadium (BYU), and Amon G. Carter Stadium (TCU). Banned (seatbacks; cushions not stated): David Booth Kansas Memorial Stadium (Kansas).

More Stadium Rules

Sources & Method

Every row links to the official school or stadium page we used, checked in October 2026. Third-party summaries, forums and ticket resellers were not used. If a page doesn't say something, the table says Not stated instead of guessing. Policies can change mid-season and for non-football events, so tap your stadium's link before you go.