Stadium Seat Rules › Big Ten

Big Ten Stadium Seat & Bag Rules (2026)

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Disclosure

Checked Oct 2026 against official school and stadium pages · All 18 schools

What most Big Ten stadiums allow

Counted from the 18 rows below
3allow a seat with a backIllinois, Maryland, and Oregon
12cushions only
1ban seats or cushionsIndiana
2not statedNorthwestern and Purdue
16″most common width limit (4 of 18)Other limits: Maryland 18″, Oregon 17.5″, and USC 18″ · No size stated: 9
0allow armrests2 of 18 ban arms outright; the rest don't mention arms
7 of 18ban pocketsPages that list pockets as banned on seats or cushions
12″ × 6″ × 12″clear bag limit at 15 of 18Different: Michigan, Ohio State, and Northwestern

Rule of thumb from these 18 rows: a flat cushion with no back, no wider than 16″ (the most common limit here), with no pockets or zippers. Then check your row: 1 ban seats or cushions and 2 don’t say.

Yes seat with a back allowed Cushions only flat cushion, no back No seats/cushions banned Not stated official page doesn't say

All 18 Big Ten Stadiums: Seat & Bag Rules

Stadium / teamSeat ruleSize limitBacks, arms & notesBag ruleSources
Gies Memorial StadiumIllinois Yes Not more than 16" wide (same page also says 9" × 16") Personal seat backs and cushions allowed; arms not stated Page lists both size limits; plan for 9" × 16" Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or clear drawstring 12″ × 12″ or 1-gal clear bag; clutch 4.5″ × 7″ Illini Gies Memorial Stadium Gameday Information ↗
Merchants Bank Field at Memorial StadiumIndiana Noonly stadium-sold cushions n/a Own seat backs and cushions not permitted; only cushions bought inside the stadium ($15 per game) are allowed Stadium seatback rentals inside Gates E3 and W2
Official wordingAm I allowed to bring my own seat cushion into the venue? No. In an effort to make seat cushions uniform throughout the stadium and provide maximum comfort for all fans, only seat cushions purchased ($15 per game) inside Merchants Bank Field at Memorial Stadium will be permitted.
Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal Ziploc; small clutch (size not stated) IU Memorial Stadium Policies ↗ IU Athletics Bag Policy FAQ ↗
Kinnick StadiumIowa Cushions only Not stated Cushions without back support; personal chairbacks prohibited Single-game chairback rentals $15 Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear bag; clutch 4.5″ × 6.5″ Iowa Football Gameday ↗
SECU StadiumMaryland Yes Max 18" wide Chairbacks OK; no armrests; pockets must be empty Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear freezer bag; clutch 4.5″ × 6.5″ Maryland Football Gameday Info Guide ↗
Michigan StadiumMichigan Cushions only Not stated ("small") No metal, pockets, storage slots, seat backs, armrests or attachments; seatbacks by medical accommodation request only Season seat-cushion leases available No bags (incl. clear bags)Medical/childcare bag only, via Gate 3 or Gate 9 West Safety Information at Michigan Stadium ↗
Spartan StadiumMichigan State Cushions only Not stated No backs or zippered sections; non-approved chair backs prohibited Spartan Seatbacks near Section 21 Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear freezer bag; clutch 4.5″ × 6.5″ MSU Football Gameday Stadium Services ↗
Huntington Bank StadiumMinnesota Cushions onlysoft Under 2" thick No framing; chairbacks with metal frames or bench attachments prohibited Single-game seat-back cushion rentals near 105, 115, 133 Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear bag; small bag 4.5″ × 6.5″ Gophers Gameday FAQ (2026) ↗
Memorial Stadium (Lincoln)Nebraska Cushions only Max 16" wide No backrests, metal fastenings, pockets, zippers, compartments or covers Backrest rentals $10; East Upper seats have backrests Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear freezer bag; small bag 4.5″ × 6.5″ Nebraska Athletics Clear Bag Policy ↗
Ohio StadiumOhio State Cushions onlyseatbacks with doctor's note Seatbacks max 16" wide Foam cushions without backs, zippers or storage slots; seatbacks only with doctor's note and no metal frame or clamp NEW 2026: single-game padded seatback rentals on A Deck and C Deck No bags or pursesWallet/wristlet up to 5″ × 8″ × 1″; medical/childcare bag 14″ × 14″ × 4″ Ohio Stadium Event Policies ↗
Ryan FieldNorthwestern Not stated Not stated Not stated (official Getting In page lists bags and prohibited items but not seats or cushions) Any bag up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″ (clear not required)One per person; no backpacks or hard cases New Ryan Field: Getting In ↗
Autzen StadiumOregon Yes Max 17.5" W × 13.5" D; back up to 19" tall; cushion up to 4" thick Seat backs OK; no pockets, zippers, compartments or covers; arms not stated Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear storage bag; clutch 4.5″ × 6.5″ Oregon Athletics Clear Bag Policy ↗
Beaver StadiumPenn State Cushions onlyplus roll-up chairs Not stated Cushions must be soft and roll up, with no back supports, zippers or storage slots; chairs with backs only if they roll up and have no pockets Seatback rentals $15 (cash) at Gates B–F Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Clutch up to 5″ × 8″ × 1″; 1-gal bag not stated Beaver Stadium A-Z Guide ↗
Ross-Ade StadiumPurdue Not statedonly some types banned Not stated Bans "seat backs and seat cushions with metal or storage slots" Single-game seatbacks sold online, pickup at Gate F Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear Ziploc; non-clear clutch 4.5″ × 6.5″ Purdue Football Gameday Policies ↗
SHI StadiumRutgers Cushions onlyfoam Not stated Foam seat cushions permitted; backs not stated 2026 Know Before You Go page does not mention cushions Clear tote, 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear resealable bag; clutch 4.5″ × 6.5″ Rutgers Football Gameday Information (older page; venue's former name) ↗ Rutgers Athletics Bag Policy (2026 page, graphic) ↗
Rose BowlUCLA Cushions onlysoft Not stated Soft, flexible, no pockets, zippers, compartments, covers or rigid frames Clear, 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal Ziploc-style bag; small clutch (size not stated) UCLA Rose Bowl Security FAQ ↗
Los Angeles Memorial ColiseumUSC Cushions only Should not be larger than 18" wide No pockets, zippers, storage compartments or metal structures Season cushions via IMG College Seating Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear storage bag; hand-size clutch (size not stated) LA Coliseum USC Football event page ↗
Husky StadiumWashington Cushions only Not stated No zippers or pockets Clear, up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear resealable bag; clutch 4.5″ × 6.5″ UW Security Screening & Bag Policy ↗
Camp Randall StadiumWisconsin Cushions only Not more than 16" wide Backs and arms not stated Clear tote, 12″ × 6″ × 12″Or 1-gal clear storage bag; small bag 4.5″ × 6.5″ UW-Madison Policy UW-600: Football Bags and Carry-Ins ↗

What to Bring to Big Ten Games

FAQ

Are stadium seats with backs allowed at Big Ten games? 3 of 18 schools publish a rule that allows a seat or chair back (Illinois, Maryland, and Oregon). Cushions only: 12. Seats or cushions banned: 1 (Indiana). Not stated: 2 (Northwestern and Purdue). Those pages only list some banned types or don't mention seats.

What size stadium seat is allowed at Big Ten stadiums? 16″ wide is the most common written limit, at 4 of 18 schools (Illinois, Nebraska, Ohio State, and Wisconsin). Other limits: Maryland (Max 18" wide), Oregon (Max 17.5" W × 13.5" D; back up to 19" tall; cushion up to 4" thick), and USC (Should not be larger than 18" wide). No size is stated for 9 schools. Measure the widest point of your seat, including the frame.

Are armrests allowed on Big Ten stadium seats? None of the 18 official pages we cite say armrests are allowed. 2 ban them outright (Maryland and Michigan). The rest don't mention arms in the rule we cite. Buy an armless seat.

What is the Big Ten clear bag rule? Clear bag up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″ is the most common rule, at 15 of 18 schools. Different rules: Michigan (No bags (incl. clear bags)), Ohio State (No bags or purses), and Northwestern (Any bag up to 12″ × 6″ × 12″ (clear not required)).

Can I rent a seatback at Big Ten stadiums? The official pages for 8 of 18 schools mention seat or seatback rentals, sales, leases or season installs (Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State, Penn State, and Purdue). That's often the easiest option where personal seatbacks aren't allowed. Details are in the notes column.

Which Big Ten stadiums ban seats or cushions? Per their official pages, checked October 2026. Banned (only stadium-sold cushions): Merchants Bank Field at Memorial Stadium (Indiana).

More Stadium Rules

Sources & Method

Every row links to the official school or stadium page we used, checked in October 2026. Third-party summaries, forums and ticket resellers were not used. If a page doesn't say something, the table says Not stated instead of guessing. Policies can change mid-season and for non-football events, so tap your stadium's link before you go.